Come and join a friendly, welcoming club with

great facilities and   competitive crews  

Rowing: an Oarsome Sport!

Whether you're an experienced oarsperson or wanting to try it for the first time, rowing is a great sport and we'd love for you to join us at the Vics.  We have superb boathouse facilities and an out-of-the-ordinary stretch of water.

If you're new to the sport then we offer regular adult induction programmes, (see below for further details).  If you have rowed before then, depending on age and ability, you're welcome to join one of our men's or women's squads.  Each squad has a dedicated, qualified coach who can help you achieve your goals, whether they are for improving technique, increasing fitness or success in competition. 


For further details please contact the Captain or Secretary.

If you are under 18 then we have a growing and successful Junior Squad, details of which can be found here.

 

About the Adult Learn to Row Programme

The club offers 4 sessions (2 Saturdays and 2 Wednesdays) to new adult beginners who wish to try out the sport of rowing. During these sessions beginners will be coached on rowing machines and on the water. At the end of the programme they should have an idea of whether or not they want to continue and become club members. The cost for the whole programme of sessions is £30.

The sessions will be supervised by qualified coaches who all hold a minimum level 2 qualification, awarded by British Rowing. Whilst on the water, a safety launch will be out at all times and there will be approximately 4 coaches to 10 beginners. Ideally, you should be able to swim 100 metres in light clothing and feel confident on and around water.

We are a competitive club and attend regattas both summer and winter. However, we also welcome recreational rowers who do not wish to compete, but are happy to use the sport as a way of keeping fit and socialising. We have a selection of boats available for non-racers, a well equipped gym for land training and a licensed bar where we hold various social functions.

What to do next

If you are interested in trying out rowing and would like to put your name down for the next induction programme, please contact me at intro@lvrc.co.uk with your name, address and telephone number.

 

Heather Parry (Learn to Row Co-ordinator)

 

2017 Learn to Row Dates

Saturday 15th April 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Sunday 16th April 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wednesday 19th April 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Saturday 22nd April 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Sunday 23rd April 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wednesday 26th April 7:00pm - 8:00pm

 

Saturday 8th July 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Sunday 9th July 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wednesday 12th July 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Saturday 15th July 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Sunday 16th July 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wednesday 19th July 7:00pm - 8:00pm

 

Saturday 14th October 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Sunday 15th October 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wednesday 18th October 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Saturday 21st October 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Sunday 22nd October 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wednesday 25th October 7:00pm to 8:00pm